top of page

Learning & Our School Curriculum

Everything we do and all the activities and experiences that our pupils undertake, in total, is called our curriculum.

It's right that because no two schools are the same and every child has their own unique needs and aspirations, no two schools have the same curriculum. Until now, schools had to teach the National Curriculum which was written and distributed by the Welsh Government; this is the case in most countries. However September 2022 saw the statutory introduction of a new framework for learning in Wales which gives each school express permission to design a bespoke curriculum for the needs of each child and the context of the school setting, all within a new national framework called 'A Currciulum for Wales.

This framework, for the first time, has a guiding 'purpose' - in fact there are now four purposes and these drive all learning & teaching. WHAT children learn will change from school to school but will consist of six Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLEs) as well as cross-curricular themes of literacy, numeracy and digital competency.

At The Dell we are moving quickly towards planning and teaching through the new curriculum framework because we've always wanted to do the best for our pupils. We believe the opportunities under these new arrangements are exciting and inspiring but also are in line with the curriculm we've tried to provide for some time. Learning themes across each year group will change over time (when you're preparing children for an ever-changing tomorrow, you have to constantly review and tweak WHAT and HOW you are teaching them).

Be Ambitious - detail.png
Be Creative - Detail.png
Be Healthy - Detail.png
Be Ethical - Detail.png
Visual Policy - LLC.png
Visual Policy - Maths & Numeracy.png
Visual Policy - Science & Technology.png
Visual Policy - Humanities.png
Visual Policy - Heath & Wellbeing.png
Visual Policy - Expressive Arts.png
Temly Themes.png
learning themes.png
bottom of page